Year: 2018

The Year That Was, 2018 – A Review in Words and Pictures

We live in times in which “many things have changed and change faster and faster”, as the time researcher Karl-Heinz Geißler so aptly put it. 2018 was an exciting year, and it passed very quickly. So it is high time for a big thank you to my readers and my companions analog and digital for the vibrant exchange and the inspiring discussion. And it is time for a brief review of this year’s topics, which more or less revolved around the two focal points of agility and agile transformation on the one hand and human – or better: humane – leadership on the other.

Leading by Example

Genuine authority is not a question of rank, but of exemplary behavior, for leadership is based more on imitation than on subordination. We could save ourselves a lot of resistance, struggle and suffering in our daily life in organizations and families if we ourselves authentically represented the change we want to see in our environment. Only those who can lead themselves so sincerely can lead others through their example.

The Trinity of Agile Leadership

No matter what you might think of Scrum, the Scrum Guide beautifully describes three aspects of leadership in the context of agile product development. At the center of value creation is the development team, which works autonomously and self-organizing. As the “CEO” of the product, the Product Owner leads the product and thus gives the autonomy a common vision and direction. And finally there is the Scrum Master, who serves the people and helps the product owner, the development team and the rest of the organization to work together effectively. A traditional manager is not described there, because his different tasks are distributed among these roles.

Dynamics of Effective Teams

Building on the success of the Oxygen project, where Google has been exploring the characteristics of good leadership, in 2012 they launched Project Aristotle, using the same data-driven methodology to unravel the mystery of effective teams. The name says it all, because Aristotle is known, among other things, for his saying that the whole is more than the sum of its parts. And at the same time this also describes the essence of the results of this investigation: a group of superstars does not necessarily become an effective team.

Agile as Concentrated Feed to Increase Employee Performance

There are many good reasons to consider agility. For instance, you could believe in the largely untapped creativity, motivation and self-responsibility of employees. Or you could recognize that a plan-driven approach to tackle complex problems is less suitable than an empirical one. And, of course, you could have the desire to radically focus on customer value and optimize the value stream accordingly. However, if you prefer to stick to the old ways of thinking, you certainly should avoid these considerations. Instead book titles such as “Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time” by Jeff Sutherland (a book worth reading and helpful by the way) lead to a fatal fallacy: Agile methods are sort of concentrated feed that will boost the performance of your employees.

Jahr: 2018

Das war 2018: Ein Rückblick in Worten und Bildern

Wir leben in Zeiten, in denen „vieles anders ist und immer schneller anders wird“, wie das der Zeitforscher Karl-Heinz Geißler das so treffend formuliert hat. Ein spannendes Jahr 2018 ging rasend schnell vorbei. Allerhöchste Zeit also für ein großes Dankeschön an meine Leser und meine Weggefährten analog wie digital für den regen Austausch und die inspirierende Diskussion. Und Zeit für einen kleinen Rückblick auf die Themen dieses Jahres, die mehr oder weniger um die beiden Schwerpunkte Agilität und agile Transformation einerseits und menschliche – oder besser: menschenwürdige – Führung andererseits kreisten.

Führung durch Vorbild

Wahre Autorität ist keine Frage der Position, sondern des vorbildlichen Verhaltens, denn Führung beruht mehr auf Nachahmung als auf Unterordnung. Wir könnten uns viel Widerstand, Kampf und Leid im täglichen Miteinander in Organisationen und Familie ersparen, wenn wir selbst authentisch den Wandel verkörperten, den wir uns für unser Umfeld wünschen. Nur wer sich selbst derart aufrichtig führen kann, kann andere durch sein Vorbild führen.

Die Dreifaltigkeit agiler Führung

Man kann von Scrum halten was man will, aber der Scrum Guide beschreibt sehr schön drei Aspekte von Führung im Kontext agiler Produktentwicklung. Da gibt es im Zentrum der Wertschöpfung das Development Team, das möglichst autonom und selbstorganisiert arbeitet. Der Product Owner sorgt als „CEO“ des Produkts für die inhaltliche Führung und gibt dadurch der Autonomie eine gemeinsame Vision und Richtung. Und schließlich gibt es den Scrum Master, der sich dienend um die Menschen kümmert und dem Product Owner, dem Development Team und dem Rest der Organisation hilft effektiv zusammenzuarbeiten. Ein klassischer Manager ist dort nicht beschrieben, denn seine verschiedenen Aufgaben sind auf diese Rollen verteilt.

Was macht effektive Teams aus?

Aufbauend auf dem Erfolg des Projekts Oxygen, mit dem Google seit 2010 untersucht, was eine gute Führungskraft und gute Führung ausmacht, startete dort 2012 das Projekt Aristoteles, in dem mit derselben datengetriebenen Methode das Geheimnis effektiver Teams gelüftet werden sollte. Der Name ist Programm, denn Aristoteles ist unter anderem für seinen Ausspruch bekannt, dass das Ganze mehr ist als die Summe seiner Teile. Gleichzeitig beschreibt das auch die Essenz der Ergebnisse dieser Untersuchung: Aus einer Gruppe von Superstars wird noch lange kein effektives Team.

Agiles Kraftfutter zur Steigerung der Mitarbeiterleistung

Es gibt viele gute Gründe, sich mit Agilität zu beschäftigen. Man könnte an die weitgehend ungenutzte Kreativität, Motivation und Eigenverantwortung der Mitarbeiter glauben. Oder man könnte erkennen, dass bei komplexen Problemstellungen ein plangetriebenes Vorgehen weniger geeignet ist als ein empirisches. Und natürlich könnte man den Wunsch haben, sich radikal auf den Kundennutzen auszurichten und den Wertstrom dafür optimieren. Wenn man aber lieber in den alten Mustern denkt, kommt man an diesen Überlegungen freilich gar nicht vorbei. Buchtitel wie „Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time“ von Jeff Sutherland (ein im Übrigen lesenswertes und hilfreiches Buch) verleiten den geneigten Manager dann zu einem fatalen Trugschluss: Agile Methoden steigern die Leistung seiner Mitarbeiter. Also her mit dem agilen Kraftfutter!