Year: 2019

The Agile Counterfeiters on Their Way to Cargo Cult Hell

Anyone who imitates Spotify or introduces SAFe or obtains imitated or falsified agile frameworks and disseminates them as best practice will be punished with futile ritual practices of not less than 20 hours per week and employee. The way into the agile cargo cult hell is well paved with best practices, blueprints and frameworks and is bordered by billboards saying: “Don’t invent the wheel again!” Agility, however, is less a question of methods than of principles and stance.

Discipline Beyond Obedience

Children are awesome. And sometimes they are an awesome challenge. To be honest, our two daughters are this every single day – more than once. Young children in particular express their insatiable desire for self-determination without restraint. Especially when we as parents, for good reasons or because time is pressing, want to control them and demand obedience. However, they react to our threats and manipulation attempts all the more rigorously with refusal, the more forcefully we put these forward. This is exhausting, but in essence also very good, because the point is not obedience and subordination, but rather personal responsibility and (self-)discipline – neither when it comes to bringing up children nor in other leadership situations.

In Titanic’s Ballroom

Several so called agile transformations ultimately end with people dancing rock ‘n’ roll instead of a slow waltz in Titanic’s ballroom and some beautifully decorated deckchairs. And even if it’s sometimes at least the engine room where rock ‘n’ roll is danced, it neither changes the course nor it increases responsiveness and adaptability.

Man as Perpetually Wanting Animal

Successful collaboration in the age of knowledge work, especially in agile organisations with their high degree of self-organisation and self-responsibility, depends to a large extent on the assumptions about human nature. Douglas McGregor stated as early as 1963 in his seminal book “The Human Side of Enterprise” that we should no longer regard people as lazy and reluctant to work (Theory X), but as intrinsically motivated and willing to perform (Theory Y). McGregor clearly builds on the work of Abraham Maslow, which meanwhile has become an indispensable part of management literature in the form of the hierarchy of needs named after him. However, the representation in the form of a pyramid is a misleading interpretation that Maslow did not come up with himself.

Setting Standards in Agile Organizations

Agility requires orientation. It’s exactly this alignment that enables effective autonomy and decentralized decisions, which make agile organizations so adaptable. But agility also requires common standards and conventions to ensure that effective cooperation of autonomous teams. So the question is not whether such standards are required in agile organizations, but rather how they are created and enforced.

Jahr: 2019

Die agilen Falschmünzer auf dem Weg in die Cargo-Kult-Hölle

Wer Spotify nachmacht oder SAFe einführt oder nachgemachte oder verfälschte agile Frameworks sich verschafft und als best practice in den Verkehr bringt, wird mit sinnlosen kultischen Handlungen nicht unter 20 Stunden pro Woche und Mitarbeiter bestraft. Der Weg in die agilen Cargo-Kult-Hölle ist gut gepflastert mit best practices, Blaupausen und Frameworks und wird gesäumt von Werbeplakaten mit der Aufschrift: „Erfinde das Rad nicht neu!“ Agilität ist aber weniger eine Frage der Methode, sondern eine Frage von Prinzipien und Haltung.

Disziplin jenseits des Gehorsams

Kinder sind großartig. Zuweilen auch eine großartige Herausforderung. Ehrlich gesagt sind unsere beiden Töchter das sogar jeden Tag – mehrfach. Ihren unbändigen Wunsch nach Selbstbestimmung zeigen gerade kleine Kinder völlig ungehemmt. Insbesondere dann wenn wir als Eltern aus guten Gründen oder weil die Zeit drängt über sie bestimmen wollen und Gehorsam fordern. Auf unsere Drohungen und Manipulationsversuche reagieren sie aber umso konsequenter mit Verweigerung je nachdrücklicher wir sie vorbringen. Das ist anstrengend, aber im Kern auch gut so, denn es geht eben nicht um Gehorsam und Unterordnung, sondern Eigenverantwortung und (Selbst-)Disziplin – weder in der Erziehung von Kindern noch in anderen Führungssituationen.

Im Ballsaal der Titanic

So manche agile Transformation endet letztlich damit, dass im Ballsaal der Titanic statt langsamem Walzer jetzt Rock ’n‘ Roll getanzt wird und die Liegestühle an Deck hübscher dekoriert sind. Und selbst wenn es bisweilen zwar wenigstens der Maschinenraum ist, in dem Rock ‘n’ Roll getanzt wird, ändert das doch am Kurs und an der Reaktionsschnelligkeit und Anpassungsfähigkeit wenig.

Der Mensch, das ewig strebende Tier

Die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit im Zeitalter der Wissensarbeit, insbesondere in agilen Organisationen mit ihrem hohen Grad an Selbstorganisation und Eigenverantwortung, hängt maßgeblich vom zugrundeliegenden Menschenbild ab. Douglas McGregor forderte bereits 1963 in seinem Buch „The Human Side of Enterprise“, dass wir Menschen nicht länger als faul und arbeitsscheu (Theorie X), sondern als intrinsisch motiviert und leistungsbereit (Theorie Y) betrachten sollten. McGregor stützt sich dabei auf die Vorarbeiten von Abraham Maslow, die in Form der nach ihm benannten Bedürfnispyramide aus der Managementliteratur mittlerweile nicht mehr wegzudenken sind. Diese Darstellung als Pyramide ist aber eine irreführende Interpretation, die gar nicht von Maslow selbst stammt.

Standards setzen in agilen Organisationen

Agilität braucht Orientierung. Erst eine gemeinsame Ausrichtung ermöglicht effektive Autonomie und dezentrale Entscheidungen, wodurch agile Organisationen so anpassungsfähig werden. Agilität braucht aber auch gemeinsame Standards und Konventionen, damit trotz aller Unabhängigkeit die Zusammenarbeit gut gelingt. Die spannende Frage ist also nicht, ob es solche Standards in agilen Organisationen braucht, sondern wie sie sinnvollerweise entstehen und durchgesetzt werden.