Latest Posts

Management by Objective – Without Carrots and Sticks

The turn of the year is traditionally the time to look back, pause and look forward to the new year. On a personal level, this typically leads to new year’s resolutions and in the vast majority of companies this means target agreements. Both can work, but in practice they won’t or will work only inadequately. There is hardly any management concept that is as widespread as Management by Objectives described by Peter F. Drucker in 1954. At the same time, this concept is probably the most misunderstood and abused in the history of management. There was a reason why Peter F. Drucker called it “Management by Objectives and Self-Control” and now is the time to remember it.

Read More

How Do You Feel About Your Time?

Warren Buffet and Bill Gates have more in common than their wealth. Since their first contact in 1991, the two have cultivated an intense friendship in which they learned a lot from each other. Bill Gates for instance learned the art of time management from Warren Buffet. This doesn’t mean meticulously filling the very last gaps in the calendar, but rather saying no and focusing on the important things. Both of them see great value in regularly using part of their time to sit around, read and reflect. An hour a day (five hours a week) is said to be worth it to the two (and to some other very successful people). And now the crucial question at the start of a new year: How do you feel about your time?

Read More

The Year That Was, 2018 – A Review in Words and Pictures

We live in times in which “many things have changed and change faster and faster”, as the time researcher Karl-Heinz Geißler so aptly put it. 2018 was an exciting year, and it passed very quickly. So it is high time for a big thank you to my readers and my companions analog and digital for the vibrant exchange and the inspiring discussion. And it is time for a brief review of this year’s topics, which more or less revolved around the two focal points of agility and agile transformation on the one hand and human – or better: humane – leadership on the other.

Read More

Leading by Example

Genuine authority is not a question of rank, but of exemplary behavior, for leadership is based more on imitation than on subordination. We could save ourselves a lot of resistance, struggle and suffering in our daily life in organizations and families if we ourselves authentically represented the change we want to see in our environment. Only those who can lead themselves so sincerely can lead others through their example.

Read More

The Trinity of Agile Leadership

No matter what you might think of Scrum, the Scrum Guide beautifully describes three aspects of leadership in the context of agile product development. At the center of value creation is the development team, which works autonomously and self-organizing. As the “CEO” of the product, the Product Owner leads the product and thus gives the autonomy a common vision and direction. And finally there is the Scrum Master, who serves the people and helps the product owner, the development team and the rest of the organization to work together effectively. A traditional manager is not described there, because his different tasks are distributed among these roles.

Read More

Neueste Artikel

Führen mit Zielen – Ohne Zuckerbrot und Peitsche

Der Jahreswechsel ist traditionell die Zeit des Rückblicks, des Innehaltens und der Vorausschau auf das neue Jahr. Auf persönlicher Ebene führt das dann in guten Vorsätzen und in den allermeisten Unternehmen bedeutet das Zielvereinbarungen. Beides kann funktionieren, tut es in der Praxis aber nicht oder nur suboptimal. Es gibt wohl nur wenig Managementkonzepte, die ähnlich verbreitet sind wie das 1954 von Peter F. Drucker beschriebene Führen mit Zielen. Gleichzeitig ist dieses Konzept vermutlich auch das am meisten missverstandene und missbrauchte in der Geschichte des Managements. Es hatte nämlich einen Grund warum Peter F. Drucker es Führen mit Zielen und Selbststeuerung (engl. Originaltitel: „Management by Objectives and Self-Control“) nannte.

Weiterlesen

Wie hältst Du’s mit Deiner Zeit?

Warren Buffet und Bill Gates verbindet mehr als ihr Reichtum. Seit ihrer ersten Begegnung 1991 pflegen sie eine intensive Freundschaft, in der sie viel voneinander lernten. Bill Gates lernte von Warren Buffet unter anderem die Kunst der richtigen Zeiteinteilung. Gemeint ist damit keineswegs das Füllen der allerletzten Lücken im Kalender, sondern im Gegenteil das bewusste Weglassen und Fokussieren. Beide sehen einen großen Wert darin, regelmäßig einen Teil ihrer Zeit zum Rumsitzen, Lesen und Nachdenken zu nutzen. Eine Stunde pro Tag (fünf Stunden pro Woche) soll das den beiden (und einigen anderen sehr erfolgreichen Menschen) wert sein. Und nun die Gretchenfrage zum Start in ein neues Jahr: Wie hältst du’s mit Deiner Zeit?

Weiterlesen

Das war 2018: Ein Rückblick in Worten und Bildern

Wir leben in Zeiten, in denen „vieles anders ist und immer schneller anders wird“, wie das der Zeitforscher Karl-Heinz Geißler das so treffend formuliert hat. Ein spannendes Jahr 2018 ging rasend schnell vorbei. Allerhöchste Zeit also für ein großes Dankeschön an meine Leser und meine Weggefährten analog wie digital für den regen Austausch und die inspirierende Diskussion. Und Zeit für einen kleinen Rückblick auf die Themen dieses Jahres, die mehr oder weniger um die beiden Schwerpunkte Agilität und agile Transformation einerseits und menschliche – oder besser: menschenwürdigeFührung andererseits kreisten.

Weiterlesen

Führung durch Vorbild

Wahre Autorität ist keine Frage der Position, sondern des vorbildlichen Verhaltens, denn Führung beruht mehr auf Nachahmung als auf Unterordnung. Wir könnten uns viel Widerstand, Kampf und Leid im täglichen Miteinander in Organisationen und Familie ersparen, wenn wir selbst authentisch den Wandel verkörperten, den wir uns für unser Umfeld wünschen. Nur wer sich selbst derart aufrichtig führen kann, kann andere durch sein Vorbild führen.

Weiterlesen

Die Dreifaltigkeit agiler Führung

Man kann von Scrum halten was man will, aber der Scrum Guide beschreibt sehr schön drei Aspekte von Führung im Kontext agiler Produktentwicklung. Da gibt es im Zentrum der Wertschöpfung das Development Team, das möglichst autonom und selbstorganisiert arbeitet. Der Product Owner sorgt als „CEO“ des Produkts für die inhaltliche Führung und gibt dadurch der Autonomie eine gemeinsame Vision und Richtung. Und schließlich gibt es den Scrum Master, der sich dienend um die Menschen kümmert und dem Product Owner, dem Development Team und dem Rest der Organisation hilft effektiv zusammenzuarbeiten. Ein klassischer Manager ist dort nicht beschrieben, denn seine verschiedenen Aufgaben sind auf diese Rollen verteilt.

Weiterlesen